the Meiklejohn

The renown



This magnificent trophy remains a focal point at the Harriston Curling Club as well as one of the oldest – longest played bonspiels in Canada. The trophy was donated by the John Meiklejohn Family in 1912.

The “Meiklejohn Trophy” was first played for in 1912 and was won by the Fergus Curling Club team consisting of (left to right) T. J. Hamilton, J. B. Bayne, John Graham, and skip John Mennie.

From its’ beginning, The Meiklejohn Bonspiel was always the highlight of the Harriston Curling Club’s season. Teams came from all across Ontario by train and brought their own curling stones to compete with. Ward’s Livery Service would deliver the stones to the “Palace Rink” from the train station. The competitions ran over a six day period so the competitors booked room and board at the local hotels for $1.00 per day’s stay.

The curling competitions continued day and night for bonspiel games were all twelve (12) ends long. Hotel staff might have to waken curlers at 3:00 A.M., feed them and send them on their way to the rink. There was no club house at the “Palace Rink” so curlers would return to the hotels between games to swap their stories.

The runners-up at the Meiklejohn Bonspiel have been awarded the “Chambers Shield” since 1917 and the first winner of this award was also a Fergus team. The first and second place presentations-tradition has carried through to present.

John Meiklejohn, donor of the trophy, club founding member, avid and skilled curler was among the Canadian Curling Team who travelled to Scotland in 1921. The “Stirling Observer” Scotland, reported on January 1921 : the Canadian Curlers at present in Scotland played two matches against Stirlingshire players at the Haymarket Ice Rink Edinburgh, had handsome victories in both cases. Mr. John Meiklejohn of Harriston, Ontario skipped the Canadian Team.

2017 . . . 106th Meiklejohn Champions

106th Meiklejohn 2017 Champions

106th Meiklejohn 2017 Champions
Palmerston Team : Benjamins (L to R)
  Craig Milburn (lead), Mike Dobson (second), Lyndsey Berlett (vice), Mike Benjamins (skip)

2017 Chambers Shield Champions

2017 Chambers Shield Champions
Guelph Team :  (L to R) Dean Elliott, Jeff Taylor, Brittany Huschka, Paul MacDonald

Web Site Powered by OSIM Interactive